Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble was founded in 1978 to establish a resident professional ensemble for the production of quality entertainment and educational programs for the region, and to promote the arts. With visionary start-up support from the Town of Bloomsburg and area patrons, the Ensemble presented two plays in the Central Columbia Middle School “cafetorium” which became their home for the next three summers. In 1980, BTE purchased the Columbia movie theatre in downtown Bloomsburg and reopened it in 1983 as the Alvina Krause Theatre, named in honor of the legendary acting teacher who was the Ensemble’s founding inspiration.

Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble is unique in the United States and rare in the world; a resident ensemble that has over 30 years of experience together, BTE is comprised of both founding and new members to make up one of the most celebrated groups of artists in theatre. American Theatre Magazine calls BTE “a perfect illustration of commitment to place.”

With over 150 years of combined professional experience, Bloomsburg Theatre Ensemble remains committed to bringing professional theatre to our region.

Mission Statement

Our mission reflects our name. We are dedicated, over time, to our community, to theatre as a patient but powerful instrument of understanding and social change, and to one another as artists.

As a resident Ensemble united by the responsibility we share for the stability and growth of our theatre, we demonstrate the viability of collective artistic direction. We support our diverse and evolving individual aesthetics.

We produce classic and contemporary plays as well as original works from folklore, found text, history, interviews, and literature of many cultures. We perform in the Alvina Krause Theatre, schools, and community settings. We teach theatre classes and we provide internships for early career artists. We are committed to our own lifelong training.

Our town and region give us the reasons and resources for our theatre. In turn, our theatre awakens the imagination, provokes questions, and emboldens the spirit, helping to validate, challenge, and change this place. We hope the home we have made here will inspire artists and communities elsewhere.

BTE is located at the
Alvina Krause Theatre
226 Center Street
Downtown Bloomsburg, PA 17815


Check out this slideshow
of Season 38 memories 

The Ensemble photographed summer 2016 by Gordon Wenzel, Impressions Studio. Top Row L to R: Daniel Roth, Laurie McCants, Eric Wunsch, Elizabeth Dowd, James Goode. Bottom row L to R: Andrew Hubatsek, Cassandra Pisieczko, Richard Cannaday

The Ensemble photographed summer 2016 by Gordon Wenzel, Impressions Studio. Top Row L to R: Daniel Roth, Laurie McCants, Eric Wunsch, Elizabeth Dowd, James Goode. Bottom row L to R: Andrew Hubatsek, Cassandra Pisieczko, Richard Cannaday

Meet Our Ensemble
Elizabeth Dowd
Richard Cannaday
James Goode
Andrew Hubatsek
Laurie McCants
Cassandra Pisieczko
Daniel Roth
Eric Wunsch

Meet Our Staff
Amy Rene Byrne, Education Director
Syreeta Combs-Cannaday, Communications Director
Renee Fawess, Box Office Staff
Deb Gallagher, Office Manager
Bill Greenly, House Manager
Paula Henry, School Programs Director
Rachel Kindt, Box Office Staff
A’nie Kirchner, Company Stage Manager
Earl Martz, Technical Director
Rachael McCahan, Box Office Manager

Michael Mengine, Costume Shop Supervisor
Ashley Miller, Box Office Staff
Cindy Schultz, Development Director
Paris Tennenhouse, Set Builder

Jon White-Spunner, Managing Director
Michael Yerges, Production Stage Manager

Meet Our Board of Trustees

President Mark Gardner, Bloomsburg
Vice President Elizabeth Cassady, Bloomsburg
Secretary Patricia Kunkle, Bloomsburg
Treasurer Mike Shapeero, Bloomsburg

Roger Brown, Danville
Leslie Bryden, Bloomsburg
Charlotte Droll, Bloomsburg
Cindy James, Bloomsburg
Jym Kauffman, Bloomsburg
Victor Klein, Paxinos
BarbaraJean Markason-Zaleski, Millville
Kathleen Mulligan, Bloomsburg
Kathy Musser, Bloomsburg
Julie Panikkar, Bloomsburg
Charles Puckett III, Bloomsburg
Nancee Weirman, Bloomsburg

Interested in joining our Board?
Contact Jon White-Spunner, Managing Director

Family of Artists

Member Emeritus
An Emeritus Member is an artist who has served at least 20 years with the Ensemble at the time of his or her departure from the company.
Gerard Stropnicky

Associate Ensemble Members
We are proud to count these former Ensemble Members as part of our talented family of artists.
Peter Brown
Tom Byrn
Jerry Matheny
Whit MacLaughlin
David Moreland
Seth Reichgott
Martin Shell

Leigh Strimbeck
Rand Whipple

Affiliated Artists
These artists are exceptional guest artists who maintain ongoing, long-term relationships with BTE. We thank them for their commitment.
Bob Rush, Anastasia Davidson, Kali Quinn, Steve Gilliland, Jeffrey Leighton, Joshua Gallagher, Cecilia Durbin, Amber Williams, Mac Dowd Whipple, A’nie Kirchner, Michael Yerges, Earl Martz, Michael Mengine, Kristen Bailey, Sarah Stuble, Renee Fawess, Syreeta Combs-Cannaday, William Decker, Rebecca Ermisch, Heath Hansum, Richard Latta, Ellen Lenbergs, Samantha Norton, Lynne Porter, F. Elaine Williams, Melissa Matthews, Paula Davis, Mary McNaugher, Monica Johnson, Lydia Hannibal, Bruce Candlish, Karen Anselm, Julie Petry, David Miller, Ethan Krupp, Nick Troisi, John Golomb, Aaron White, Jenny Kenyon, Michael Fritz, Gordon Wenzel, Connor Henry, Geddeth Smith, A.C. Hickox